East Chicago Public Library


The Library Board The library is governed by a seven member Board of Trustees. Each trustee is appointed to a four-year term. The trustees are appointed by the East Chicago School Board, and one is appointed by each of the following: the City Council, the Mayor, the Lake County Board of Commissioners, and the Lake County Council. No trustee may serve more than four consecutive terms. The Board is the policy-making body of the library and determines such matter as hours of service, location of branches, holidays, vacations, and salaries. Board members work with the Director in preparing the library's budget. The Board employs the Director, who is then responsible for the operation of the library. The Board meets monthly at the Main Library. The time and date set for Board meetings is advertised in local newspapers. Board meetings are open to the public. The Board of Trustees of the East Chicago Public Library will meet on the third Wednesday of each month at 4:45pm at the Main Library, 2401 E. Columbus Drive.  Board meetings are open to the public. 

For additional information, please contact Mayra Lozano, Administrative Assistant to the Director at 219.397.2453 Ext. 20.

Board Members

Diana Lopez-Colon, President
Appointed by
East Chicago Common Council

Stephanie Ramos, Vice President
Appointed by
School City of East Chicago

Damon T. Carpenter, Treasurer
Appointed by
Lake County Common Council

Princella Askew, Secretary
Appointed by
East Chicago School Board

Rev. Kelly Williams, Member
Appointed by
Lake County Commissioner

Anthony P. Serna, Member
Appointed by